Wednesday, March 01, 2006

The man we can thank for bringing Bharathiar's songs into the public domain -AV. Meiyappan. The AV.M stamp and first day cover is at the top. The lower cover is a special cover and cancellation to commemorate AV.Meiyappan (1907-1979). The stamp was released in January 2006, as a part of the 60th anniversary celebrations of AVM studios, one of the two studios in Kodambakam, Kollywood, to continue in film business. (The other is Prasad Studios - another post later) The special cover has the stamp of another movie great NTR - N.T. Rama Rao, of telugu filmdom, who went on to become the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh. The frames in the special cover include those from `Naam Iruvar' that had a number of Bharathiar songs, next is a pic of Ms Vaijayanthimala Bali in `Vaazhkai,' Sivaji Ganesan in `Parasakthi,' the kid is Kamal Haasan in `Kalathoor Kanamma' aaannd in the last frame MGR - THE `Puratchi Thalaivar' in ANBE VAA. Posted by Picasa

No comments: